Area Information
Share Print
Make Text Smaller

Make Text Smaller
Smaller Larger

The Housatonic Valley Council of Elected Officials (HVCEO) is a regional coordinating body maintained by ten municipalities in western Connecticut. The ten members are Bethel, Bridgewater, Brookfield, Danbury, New Fairfield, New Milford, Newtown, Redding, Ridgefield and Sherman.

The HVCEO mission is to make the Housatonic Valley Region a better place to live, do business and visit thru coordinated planning and cooperative approaches.

HVCEO was founded in 1968, its creation authorized by Title 4, Chapter 50, Section 4-124c of CT State Statutes. The Council prepares a regional transportation plan, a regional growth plan and maintains a vigorous research program.

HVCEO Meeting

A significant portion of the HVCEO service to municipal members is in the form of providing on-going regionalized communications:

--- Annual meeting with Area Legislators, breakfast in December to advocate for municipal and regional needs prior to legislative session.
--- Housatonic Valley Region Public Health Emergency Planning Committee, health directors meet monthly at office, staff participates and provides fiduciary services.
--- HVCEO Emergency Management Directors Planning Group, quarterly rotating between emergency operations centers.
--- Finance and Human Resource Directors Annual Luncheon, to network and review consultant’s report comparing bargaining unit agreements.

--- HVCEO Tick Illness Prevention Task Force, meets every other month at office, staff provides administrative support.
--- Planning and Zoning Department Staff, annual discussion session and periodic meetings with state planning staff.
--- Annual Sexual Harassment Prevention Training, provided each June for newly hired municipal supervisory staff.

--- Housatonic Resources Recovery Authority, HVCEO provides office space and minor administrative support.
--- Western CT Economic Development Alliance, staff has board membership, provides financial and administrative support, meets every other month at Danbury Chamber. HVCEO hosts organization’s web site.
--- Association of Public Works Professionals for the Housatonic Valley, staff assists meetings held every other month rotating between municipalities, administered by the Danbury Public Works Department.

--- Fairfield County Deer Management Alliance, staff maintains this organization’s check book.
--- Ives Trail and Greenway Association, Inc., HVCEO hosts web site.

The office is located in Brookfield, CT in the Old Brookfield Town Hall, 162 Whisconier Road, at the intersection of Routes 25 and 133.

-- Staff directory and email addresses at Old Brookfield Town Hall.

-- Directions to the HVCEO Office at Old Brookfield Town Hall.

-- Directions to HVCEO Meetings at nearby Brookfield Town Hall.

Old Town Hall

162 Whisconier Road
Brookfield, CT 06804
  Tel: 203-775-6256
Fax: 203-740-9167
  Office Hours
8:30 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.,
Monday thru Friday.


Members of the Council are the ten chief elected officials in the area, two mayors and eight first selectman.

They meet monthly except during the summer months to supervise regional planning efforts, conduct workshops, and exchange information to improve municipal management.

Some meetings are dedicated to dialogues with state legislators, state agency staff, emergency planners and social service agencies.

Bethel First Selectman
and Chairman
Hurgin Municipal Center
1 School Street
Bethel, CT 06801
Phone: (203) 794-8501
Member since 12/2009
Alternate Selectman Richard Straiton

Bridgewater First Selectman
Bridgewater Town Hall
Main St., Route 133, Box 216
Bridgewater, CT 06752
Phone: 860-354-5250
Member since 12/2013
Alternate: Vacant

Brookfield First Selectman
Town Hall, 100 Pocono Road
Box 5106
Brookfield, CT 06804
Phone: 203-775-7300
Member since 12/2013
Alternate Jerry Murphy

Mayor of Danbury
Danbury City Hall
155 Deer Hill Avenue
Danbury, CT 06810
Phone: 203-797-4511
Member since 12/2001
Alternates Chief of Staff Wayne Shepperd and Planning Director Dennis Elpern

New Fairfield First Selectman
New Fairfield Town Hall
4 Brush Hill Road
New Fairfield, CT 06812
Phone: 203-312-5600
Member since 5/2013
Alternate: Selectman John Hodge

Mayor of New Milford
Town Hall, 10 Main Street
New Milford, CT 06776
Phone: 860-355-6010
Member since 12/2003
Alternate Administrative
Assistant Tammy Reardon

Newtown First Selectman
Newtown Municipal Center
3 Primrose Street
Newtown, CT 06470
Phone: 203-270-4201
Member since 1/2010
Alternates Community Development
Director Elizabeth Stocker and Director
of Public Works Frederick Hurley

Redding First Selectman
Redding Town Hall
100 Hill Road, P. O. Box 1028
Redding Center, CT 06875
Phone: 203-938-2002
Member since 11/2013
Alternate: Leon J. Karvelis

Ridgefield First Selectman
and Secretary-Treasurer
Town Hall, 400 Main Street
Ridgefield, CT 06877
Phone: 203-431-2774
Member since 11/1999
Alternate Selectwoman Barbara Manners

Sherman First Selectman
and Vice Chairman
Mallory Town Hall, 9 RT 39 North
P. O. Box 39
Sherman, CT 06784
Phone: 860-355-1139
Member since 1/2012
Alternate Selectman Robert Ostrosky


The staff consists of three full time and two part time persons. Various planning and engineering consultants are also engaged for specific technical products. Access staff emails.

Camille Acquanita
Office Manager (part time)

David Hannon
Interim Executive Director

Josephine Harvey
Financial Manager (part time)

George Blake
Geographic Information
Systems Manager



HVCEO and HRRA staffs in December of 2012

From left Jonathan Chew, Jennifer Iannucci, Josephine Harvey,
Cheryl Reedy, David Hannon, Camille Acquanita and George Blake.

Similar regional organizations operate in 13 other planning regions in Connecticut, shown on this statewide map.

Access to research reports relating to community planning and governmental topics is available to local officials and the public. Inquiries from the public concerning HVCEO's activities are welcome.

The HVCEO web site consultant is Levent Kolukisa of Torrington, CT.

Back Button Spacer Back Button